Find a Trainer

Since 2010, more than 160 deaf and hard of hearing advocacy specialists have been trained as DSAT Consumer Trainers.  This group of individuals possesses the knowledge of and passion for advocacy, their desire to provide advocacy training, and for their access to the Deaf Community and consumers of vocational rehabilitation. Fourteen members of this group are referred to as DSAT Master Trainers. In addition to providing consumer trainings, they are qualified to conduct train-the-trainer trainings to deaf, hard of hearing and deaf-blind individuals interested in becoming a DSAT Consumer Trainer.

Trainer Attributes and Qualifications

Based on the effective practices findings of Communication Service for the Deaf (CSD, the DSAT curriculum is designed as a peer-led training. In addition to this strong preference for Deaf, hard of hearing and Deaf-blind trainers, trainers must also have:
• Native level fluency in ASL
• A strong knowledge of and ongoing exposure to the Deaf community
• A working knowledge of the target audience’s needs
• In-depth knowledge of local, state and national resources
• Ability to translate written contents into communication modes and/or language choices appropriate for participants.

Directory of DSAT Consumer and Master Trainers

DSAT Master Trainers with NCIEC DSAT Workteam Members

The Directory below lists DSAT Consumer Trainers. In addition, those DSAT Consumer Trainers who are Master Trainers are also identified in the Directory. Many of these individuals are available to provide training upon request, which is often taught in a six to eight hour blocks of time or longer. While the Directory groups the trainers according to the NCIEC region in which they reside, they may be available to travel outside the region. Please contact them directly to learn of their availability and service fees (if any). Also, please note that those without contact information are not available for training.

NCIEC Regional Center Map

Directory of DSAT Master Trainers

*Refers to DSAT Master Trainer available for Train the Trainer workshops
**Refers to DBSAT Trainers

CATIE Center Region: Upper Mid-West
Name* City/State Contact Information Availability
Kim Anderson Lansing, KS kimanderson.ks@gmail.com Anytime
Angela Botz Alton, IL botz@impactcil.org
618-208-1146 VP
Anytime 9AM-4PM
Colleen Burdiss St Louis, MO cburdiss@paraquad.org Daily 8AM-4PM, weekends upon request
Lee Clark** St Paul, MN lee.clark@state.mn.us Anytime
Susan DeBauge KS
Sheryl D. Emery* Southfield, MI Sherylem1@aol.com Please contact for availability
Amanda Dudgeon Peoria Heights, IL adudgeon@advocatesforaccess.com
VP: 309-863-5847
Anytime, evenings and weekends (Flexible schedule that fits the best)
Sheila Faricy
Matt Gwynn Olathe, KS Matt.j.gwynn@gmail.com Friday evenings and weekends
Tamara Hogue Jacksonville, IL tamara.hogue@illinois.gov
217-717-9658 VP
Weekends
Hersel Jackson Rock Island, IL 309 948 6050 VP Anytime
JJ Jones Kansas City, MO Laura.Thomas@hknc.org 9AM–4PM
Kimberly Kuhns Olathe, KS KimberlyDeafTerp@gmail.com Anytime
Kathy Manlapas MN kathy.manlapas@gmail.com Evenings and weekends
Paul Pyers Jacksonville, IL paul@jacil.org
Charleen Scully* Indianapolis, IN Charleen.Sculley@aspireindiana.org Please contact for availability
Lance Sigdestad Sioux Falls, SD
Deloris Summers IL queendel965@gmail.com Anytime
Laura J. Thomas* E. Moline, IL Laura.Thomas@hknc.org Available most times. Please contact for availability.
Joseph Vieira Jacksonville, IL joseph.vieira@gmail.com Evening and weekends
Bryen N. Yunashko** Chicago, IL hello@bryen.com Anytime
GURIEC Region: Atlantic Seaboard and Southeast U.S.
Name* City/State Contact Information Availability
Jimmy Autrey* Morganton, NC jimmy.autrey@dhhs.nc.gov Please contact for availability
Lisette Belanger Wheaton, MD lbelanger@dors.state.md.us Please contact for availability
Ashley Benton** Raleigh, NC ashleybenton@aol.com Please contact for availability
Julie Burton* Cedartown, GA jburton@gachi.org Please contact for availability
Mary Crews Nunnally Henrico, VA mary.nunnally@dars.virginia.gov
VP: 804-433-3277, Phone: 804-322-3456
Please contact for availability
Anita Dowd Frankfort, KY Anita.Dowd@kcdhh.ky.gov Please contact for availability
Laura Herman Morganton, NC Laura.Herman@dhhs.nc.gov Please contact for availability
Wendy Hill Lanham, MD whill@dors.state.md.us Please contact for availability
Mona Ivy Philadelphia, PA mivey003@gmail.com Please contact for availability
Chuck Kelly Portsmouth, VA chuck.kelley@dars.virginia.gov Please contact for availability
Kristin Lazor Bloomsburg, PA kmlizor518@aol.com Please contact for availability
Victoria Ann Magliocchino** Jacksonville, FL VickyMaglio@yahoo.com Please contact for availability
Kimberly Majus Salisbury, MD kmajus@discoverhci.org Please contact for availability
Craig “Hank” Passi Baltimore, MD Hpassi@dors.state.md.us Please contact for availability
Daisy Rivenbark Wilmington, NC daisy.rivenbark@dhhs.nc.gov Please contact for availability
Howard A. Rosenblum MD
Kathy Schwabeland Baltimore, MD kathy.schwabeland@pepnet.org Please contact for availability
Stephanie Scott Wilson, NC stephanie.scott@dhhs.nc.gov Please contact for availability
Randy Shaw Duluth, GA randyshawcdi@msn.com Please contact for availability
Tracey Wyant Germantown, MD twyant@dors.state.md.us Please contact for availability
MARIE Center Region: Mid-West
Name* City/State Contact Information Availability
Alma Rosa Bebee* Corpus Cristi, TX abebee@deaf-hh.org
361-288-8817 VP
Most days, evenings and weekends
Corina Gutierrez* Albuquerque, NM Corina.Gutierrez@state.nm.us Please contact for availability
Charolette Harasymczuk Billings, MT char@bresnan.net
406.206.5360
Mondays and evenings
Ann Horn* &
Randi Turner*
Austin, TX randiturner.texas@yahoo.com
512.410.7691 VP
512.567.2634 (V-cell) can text or call
Taught as a deaf/hearing team.
Possible weekdays, prefer evenings and weekends.
Lynette Linker Madisonville, LA 985.200.2173 Some evenings and Saturdays
Rob Loveless Denver, CO rob.loveless@state.co.us Daytime, weekends, no evenings
Lynn Null Tulsa, OK/td> Mlznull@aol.com Evening and weekends
Karen Park** CO sunflowerkp@aol.com Anytime
Lisa Potter Baton Rouge, LA lisachase24@gmail.com
225.341.6431 VP
Please contact for availability
Kim Powers Smith** TX kimpowerssmith@gmail.com
225.341.6431 VP
Please contact for availability
Michelle Rolewitz Fargo, ND rolewitz@hotmail.com
701.205.3041 VP
Please contact for availability
Kimberly Thornsberry* Salt Lake City, UT kmtberry4@gmail.com Please contact for availability
NURIEC Region: Northeast and Caribbean Island Territories
Name*  City/State Contact Information Availability
Michelle Ames Portland Maine amesm1@comcc.org Conducted through Community Counseling Center. Contact Kristine Dach at dachk@comncc.org.
Keri Darling* VT kdarling@dvas.org Please contact for availability
Elaine Ducharme** Boston, MA educharme@deafinconline.org Please contact for availability
Tammy Ennis * Bridgeport, CT tammy.ennis@gmail.com Please contact for availability
Bonnie Kaplan Boston, MA, b.kaplan@neu.edu
857.366.4195 VP
Please contact for availability
Lillian Garcia Peterkin* CT/NY l.garcia@neu.edu
203-764-2092 vp
Available days, evenings and weekends
Tim Riker Somerville, MA Please contact for availability
Ivy Velez Marlborough, MA IMVelez@sprint.blackberry.net
866.927.7805 – VP
Please contact for availability
Christopher Woodfill** New York, New York Chris.Woodfill@hknc.org Please contact for availability
WRIEC Region: Western U.S. and Pac Rim Islands
Name* City/State Contact Information Availability
Elizabeth Andrews Anchorage, AK
Brenda Aron Seattle, WA Baron@sccd.ctc.edu
Baron1981@comcast.net
Evenings and weekends
Beca Bailey Phoenix, AZ b.bailey@acdhh.az.gov
Linda Bove Phoenix, AZ Lined247@gmail.com
Charles Chee-Weng-Chang Twin Falls, ID charleschang2005@gmail.com Evenings and weekends
James Christianson, Jr. Bellingham, WA jchristianson@hsdc.org Evenings and weekends
Larry Devenny Phoenix, AZ Laliwho@gmail.org
Sean Furman Phoenix, AZ s.fuman@acdhh.az.gov
Jennifer Gajardo Phoenix, AZ jGajardo@azdes.gov
Andy Granda** CA serviceomatic@gmail.com Please contact for availability
Emmet Hassen Phoenix, AZ E.Hassen@acdhh.az.gov
Rae Hensan Kingman, AZ Raerae5coo@gmail.com
Damon Johnson Blaine, MN mrjasl@gmail.com Evenings and weekends
Deborah Kahn Selah, WA Djkahn419@yahoo.com
425.698.2223
Weekends
Rev Nick Leflors Everett, WA nickl@bca-online.com
425.698.2223
Anytime
Joy Maisel Riverside, CA joyfultea3@gmail.com
909.398.0150
Evenings and weekends
Jerrel Mathern Seattle, WA Jmathern@hsdc.org Please contact for availability
Colleen Matusof Honolulu, HI colleenkmatusof@gmail.com Please contact for availability
Kim Minard Phoenix, AZ kimm@vcdaz.org
Cynthia Napier Riverside, CA Cyndergirl59@msn.com
Thomas J. Posedley Phoenix, AZ tjposedley@gmail.com
Timothy Sanger Phoenix, AZ tjsanger@gmail.com
Megan Scarboro Phoenix, AZ Megan.scarboro@asdb.az.gov
Beth Smiley Surprise, AZ BSmiley0717@gmail.com
Hal Suddreth Canyon Country, CA halsuddreth@gmail.com
661.513.4988 VP
Please contact for availability
Angela Theriault** Portland, OR atheriault@seattledbsc.org Please contact for availability
Dale Tolstead Anaheim, CA Tolesteadd@aol.com Fridays and Saturdays, others upon request